The Trench Coat

Ever since I started sewing all my knowledge comes mainly from the plethora of tutorials available online and a few Craftsy lessons; although all these were very helpful I felt that I needed something more, something to take me to the next level and expand my sewing skills. When I run across an advertisement with the title Make Your Own Burberry Style Gabardine I thought that was what I was looking for and took the decision to attend the class. The result is this very coat, a love and hate project; it will take some time until I will actually wear it without having bad feelings about it, as it appeared my decision wasn’t so wise.

image

In a few words, although the teacher was a known designer and a lovely person, she didn’t have much experience in teaching and sewing; the lack of organization and teaching ability made the completion of this coat a difficult task. After many hours of sewing, ripping, tremendous headaches each time she used a normal pencil to mark my fabric, sewing and a lot more of ripping, pattern pieces that didn’t match leading to even more ripping the Gabardine is finished.

image
The pattern was provided to me as part of the sewing course, I still have a copy of it but I don’t think will use it again as it has many flaws. A double breasted trench coat featuring raglan sleeves, back /front flaps and epaulets.

image

image

I used a wool gabardine as main fabric and mulberry silk for the lining. Bought 3 meters of gabardine for 5 euros, after I had completed both the coat and the lining I tried it on and we noticed that the fabric was see through and you could easily see the print of the lining.

image

image

My teacher suggested to buy a solid lining fabric and use that instead but I deffenetely wanted to use this gorgeous silk I purchased from Aliexpress and decided to add an underlining of self fabric. Purchased another 2 meters of gabardine and made another layer, we treated it as one with the lining and the problem was solved, this way the coat became a bit heavy but also warmer.

image

image

This is the first time I use and wear silk, it was not treated as it deserves but I love how soft it feels and that gorgeous print pops up and gives a designer look in my Gabardine.

image
This project happens to be the exact meaning of the Fashionista Barganista contest of Pattern Review and so I decided to participate; luckily I finished it just on time with the last steps being the buttonholes and buttons which I started sewing on Friday night, at 5 o’clock Saturday morning the last button was sewn and my Gabardine finally completed.

Photobombing from Rexi!

Photobombing from Rexi!

That’s all about this project.
Take care and happy sewing!

21 thoughts on “The Trench Coat

  1. Pingback: The Patti Dress – Burda Vintage!!! | IdaAida

  2. I hope you can forget the trauma because it is a truly beautiful coat! The lining is really special and your top-stitching looks very professional, it makes me want to make a trench coat!

    Like

    • thank you Lou, a lot of topstitching involved here but gives a beautiful look so it was worth it. You should deffenetly try it,it requires a lot of work but after that everything else seems a piece of cake.

      Like

  3. Your coat is gorgeous. It sucks it was such a pain to get through. I hope you can get over the sour feelings and love it. It is really fabulous!

    And marked your coat with a pencil?!!! What is wrong with her? I’d freeeak.

    Like

  4. Sewing a trench coat is a big and time-consuming project and with extra headaches along the way I can understand what you mean about it being a love-hate thing! It looks great though so I hope you get lots of wear out of it. And that lining is absolutely stunning!

    Next time I’m in Athens we’ll have to meet up and go fabric shopping!

    Like

  5. Congratulations on staying the course and finishing it! It is a beautiful coat and very wearable. That lining was well worth the extra effort of re-lining.

    Like

Leave a Reply

