Maker!

για ελληνικά πήγαινε εδώ

This is a bit different post than what you usually see here, the content is slightly different! usually there is sewing , now it’s knitting, sewing and shoemaking! Yep, all those surprisingly made by me!

Knitting: I learnt how to knit as a child by my mum, ever since though have made only a couple of scarfs and one superchunky flat knitted sweater back in time when I was studying. I felt knitting was  boring as you knit row after row and so much time consuming, I really preferred spending my time with other more interesting outdoor activities ! It seems that for everything the right timing and state of mind is required and that perfect timing for me starting knitting was 3 months ago with a lot of motivations from my good friends Katerina and Natassa which inspired me to start knitting and especially knitting in circle needles which sounded terrifying and undoable to me as a straight needle knitter! It took me 15 minutes to get the hang of it and that was it, knitted 3 beanies and than a pullover knit along with Katerina and Natassa followed.

Pattern: Stasis Pullover by Leila Raabe

Yarn: Pure Alpaca in light pink colour purchased here  + Merino Extrafine by Schachenmayr colour 00130

Needles: started with some cheap circular purchased from Lidl but in the middle of it I upgraded to Hiya Hiya sharp interchangable, it made a big difference!

Process: As I expected a lot happened while I knitted this sweater and It would not even be here now if it wasn’t my mum a knitter extraordinaire that saved it so many times, I’ll mention only that after I had finished knitting it I somehow cut the sweater while I was cutting a yarn marker and when I thought that all that labour and love I had pun on this pullover was wasted she did a facelift surgery on the cut hole and now you can’t even tell what and were it happened.

Like: the colours, the seamless finish, the fit adjustments I made, the colourwork.

Dislike: how the drastically decreasses in the yoke part look, the shortrows points that I made are very obvious.

Sizing: I used Elizabeth Zimmermann’s method on choosing the size which is instead of measuring my body to measure a garment I already had and I liked the fit. Took the bust measurement of that garment and using the swatch I made with the yarn I was going to use concluded in making size 3 for the bodice and size 4 for the sleeves.

Techniques Learnt:

Colourwork –  I tried 3 different ways to handle the floats,in the bottom colourwork I left them as they are which I did not like as it pulls the fabric like an elastic, catching them every second stitch in the sleeve part of the colourwork which I also don’t like as it disturbs how the colourwork looks and finally in the yoke as suggested by Katerina I used a combination of these two which was catching he floats only every 3-4 stitches which makes a difference and I prefer the most.

Japanese short rows: I didn’t follow the pattern on this, I wanted to have a rounded neck and the back to be higher as what I had seen on other versions of this pattern so I made a set of 3 short rows before the yoke colourwork and a set of 5 after the neck decreases. I am not happy with how they look, in the tutorial I followed on youtube  the japanese short rows were showed in straight needles and they are almost invisible, I didn’t know how to adjust them in circular knitting so they don’t look as clean as I wanted to. Please let me know if you have any suggestion on how to achieve a neater result.

3 needles bind off to close the underarm opening.

Adjustments: rounded the neck, higher back, adjusted the sleeve length and width to fit my arms, shortened the bodice, as I used 2 different sizes I adjusted the stitch nr. before starting the yoke colourwork so that could be divided by 6 which is the nr. of stitches of the colourwork.

Sewing: selfdrafted skirt, features a yoke, center back invisible zipper, box pleats in the front, flared in the back and side seam pockets. Not much to say here apart from the fabric which is 100% wool fabric made in Greece, obviously it is very old as unfortuanately they are not produced here anymore. It has a nice drape and I love how it looks, I would prefer the hem to look more crisp, maybe I should interface it to get that look, I’ll see. I used part of the selvadge visible in the pocket as I love how that yellow pops overthere.

Shoes: I started a shoemaking class 8 months ago and these are my first pair. Derby shoes, pattern drafted by me, made with black calf leather upper, goat leather lining, leather innersole, outer sole and heel. Making a pair of shoes like this takes a lot of time, 50% of the result is based on how well the pattern is drafted and the other 50% is the lasting and finishing part. Construction can be much easier if you use ready made innersoles, outersoles and heels but I believe the look of this handmade sole is perfection and is worth all the time and effort.

 

I think this post got very long so let’s conclude it here. The entire look appeals to me a lot and the three pieces together or separately are exactly my style and the way I want to be dressed. I would love to read your opinion about this look and any knitting advices you might have will be appreciated.

Take care,

Aida

24 thoughts on “Maker!

  1. I feel this whole outfit works well for you. You have a lovely shaped body so the clingy top and the A line skirt are the perfect shape. The colours work well together. I love all the items individually but together they tell us something about who you are. The shoes are such an amazing achievement and very inspiring for me. I don’t know much about knitting yet so I am learning from you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Kate, seeing part of me through this outfit is such a great compliment, as I grow as a maker I try my makes to mean something to me. Knitting is also new to me so we’re both in the same level here!
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a pretty sweater to welcome spring! You’ve got such a good friends to motivate you pick up knitting again. I don’t have such people around, so a makers virtual community is one of the biggest motivators for me. I have to say, I really admire your shoe-making skills: it requires so much precision. Keep on creating!

    Like

    • Thank you Inna, I really would have not picked up knitting again if it wasn’t for my friends, at least not now. Getting motivated is essential and we can use any medium possible to get that.

      Like

  3. Since I already commented on Instagram and Burda, I just wanted to press the like button but that’s apparently only for wordpress people and I blog on blogger 😀 So a big thumbs up to you Aida (and very cute dog 🙂 )

    Like

  4. I really like your version of Stasis. It’s been a while since I made a colorwork pullover. They’re challenging to knit but so much fun once you get the tension right on the stranded portions and, of course, when you’re happy with your choice of colors. Those shoes are dreamy, too!

    Like

  5. You make knitting with circular needles very tempting, I feel I should try it, although I’m a bit lost with the knitting terms as I’m not that advanced. The skirt is just fab, the fabric looks perfect for this design, I’d stroke it if I were there. The shoes are something that amazes me, it’s one of these things that are a bit of a mystery how they are put together, at least to me. You can tell this is your style, you look at ease in it. I love the outfit on you, great colour combos too! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

    Like

    • Thank you very much Vasiliki, you should totally try knitting, I didn’t know any terms either 3 months ago but I started watching videos and tutorials so now I have a slight idea about knitting. Start with something small, beanie or scarf , I made 3 beanies before starting the pullover just to get the hang of it.
      filakia!

      Like

  6. That sweater is so beautiful, and although you mention some flaws, I’d never know! I am so envious lately of people that sew and knit, and you’re another one to add to that list. I love the different colors and the pattern around the shoulders. The skirt is really cute too. The fabric is gorgeous, obviously one of a kind!

    Like

Leave a Reply

